Mt. Carmel School

Location: S23/T1/R8E

Funds:\$159

School District: 34

Teachers in 1923: Bess Williams. Bettve Kate

Williams, and Lucy Crownover

Trustees in 1923: J. J. Crownover, C. L. Ridley, and

Jerry Walker

Teachers in 1939: Lon Shelton and Mrs. Lucy Walker

School Location: Bridgeport

According to Dennis Lambert and Ron Lee in the Bridgeport, Alabama: Gateway to the Sequatchie Valley book, Mt. Carmel School was held in a one-room building beside Gunter Church until a new three-room school was built across the road behind what was Charlie Ridley's Store, left of the Mt. Carmel Baptist Church, which was built in 1907.

NOTICE OF SPECIAL SCHOOL ELECTION IN MT. CARMEL SCHOOL DISTRICT No. 34. ELECTION IN MT. CARMEL.

SCHOOL DISTRICT No. 24.

Netics is hereby given that a special election will be held at the school house in Meant Carmel school district No. 14. in said county, on the 25th day of November, 1922, to determine whether or not a special tax of thirty cents on each one handred dollars' worth of taxable property assessed for taxation in said Mount Carmel District No. 24, in said county, shall be levied and collected annually for the support of the public schools within said district; that the time said tax is proposed to be continued in 7 years from September 30, 1922.

The boundaries of said Mount Carmel School District No. 34, in said county, are as follows:

Beginning at the NW corner of Section 12, Township I, Earge 7, thence Hast 2 mile; thence South is mile; thence North is mil ginning. Said district matains Sections 12 Said district material Sections 12 and 13. Fownship 1, Range 2, also Sections 7, the 8 % of Sections 10; the W % of the SE 4 ef Section 14, and the W % of the SE 4 ef Section 14, all of Sections 15, 48, 17, 18, the N % of Section 23, the N % of 21, all of 22, 23 and the W % of 24, the N % of 25, the N % of 26, the N % of 26, the N % of 27, in Township 1, Range 8, Isekson County, Ala.

The following named persons are appointed as officers to held said election, to-well:

appointed as officers to hold said election, to-will.

J. J. Crownover, F. M. Williams and C. T. Serunga, inspectors; Miss Bessie Williams and Miss Lucy Crownover, clerks, and C. L. Ridley, returning officer.

This the 16 day of Cel. 1922.

L. W. Wimberly, C. T. Bobe, R. S. Skelen, W. T. Eustace, Commissioners.

A. H. Mooke, dutge of Probite.
Members of the Court of County.
Commissioners of Jackson County.
Alsbarm.
M. C. Thomas, Shriff of
Jackson County dis





